Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Glavine into the Braves Hall of Fame

Press release from the Braves:


For Immediate Release: Tuesday, May 11, 2010

Atlanta Braves to Honor Tom Glavine with
Braves Hall of Fame Induction and Number Retirement on August 6

The Atlanta Braves will pay tribute to their former pitcher Tom Glavine on Friday, August 6 by inducting him into the Braves Hall of Fame and retiring his uniform number. The induction will take place at a special luncheon and the uniform number retirement will occur in a pre-game ceremony that night before the Braves take on the San Francisco Giants.

“Tom has been, and continues to be, a very special part of the Atlanta Braves organization,” said Atlanta Braves President John Schuerholz. “There’s no greater honor than inducting him into our Hall of Fame and making sure his Braves uniform number 47 is retired and finds its rightful place alongside other great Braves Hall of Famers.”

Glavine’s number 47 will be the seventh Braves uniform number to be retired, joining Hank Aaron (44), Eddie Mathews (41), Dale Murphy (3), Phil Niekro (35), Warren Spahn (21) and Greg Maddux (31). The Braves also retired the number 42 along with all Major League Baseball teams to honor Jackie Robinson.

Glavine, who is currently a special assistant to team president John Schuerholz and is also a broadcaster on some Braves radio and TV broadcasts, spent 19 years in the Braves organization. He was drafted by the Braves in 1984 and was with the team through the 2002 season before he was signed as a free agent with the New York Mets. After five seasons with the Mets, Glavine returned to the Braves in 2008.

He ranks 21st on the Major League Baseball’s career victory list, with 305, and he ranks fourth for most wins by a left-handed pitcher behind Warren Spahn, Steve Carlton and Eddie Plank. In 518 starts for the Braves, Glavine compiled a 244-147 record with a 3.41 ERA.

Glavine won the National League Cy Young Award in 1991 and again in 1998. In 1995 he was named the World Series MVP after going 2-0 with a 1.29 ERA in the Braves’ championship win over the Cleveland Indians.

He will join Hank Aaron, Bill Bartholomay, Lew Burdette, Skip Caray, Del Crandall, Ralph Garr, Tommy Holmes, Ernie Johnson, David Justice, Herman Long, Bill Lucas, Greg Maddux, Eddie Mathews, Dale Murphy, Kid Nichols, Phil Niekro, John Sain, Paul Snyder, Warren Spahn, Ted Turner, and Pete Van Wieren in the Braves Hall of Fame.

Tickets are available for the August 6 game at www.braves.com/tickets, the Braves ticket office at Turner Field, by calling Ticketmaster at 1-800-745-3000, or at any Ticketmaster outlet.

The location for the Hall of Fame luncheon is still to be determined, but for information regarding tickets fans can call 404-614-2310.


Jessica said...

Yay, Tommy! If you go to the game that night Lauren, take lots of pics! :)

Lauren T. said...

You know I will!!